UBEC Install on my Blade 400

Here is How I installed my UBEC last weekend.  If you have any questions ask them in the comments section below.

This is the HobbyWing UBEC I installed, the wires on the left go to the battery, the connector on the right goes to the Receiver:

First I cut stripped the wire going from the ESC to the battery (Use a good stripper). I could have just cut the leads off and soldered in a new connector but I didn’t feel like doing that.

Stripped:

Next, I tinned the stripped area:

Then, I tinned the wires on the BEC that go to the battery connector, and then soldered the two wires together:

I cut a piece of heat shrink tubing, put it over the solder, and super glued the seam back together (Yes this actually works like a charm). Then, I used a hairdryer to shrink the tubing down:

Repeat the process for the red wire:

Then take the connector out of the receiver that goes to the ESC:

Remove the Red wire by gently using a hobby knife to pull up the plastic tab:

Bend the red wire back on the other wires and heatshrink or tape it down:

Now plug the ESC connector back where it was, and plug in the BEC connector to the BATT (or spare/open) socket on the Receiver (NOTE: make sure the red and black wires from the BEC are going to the correct pins on the receiver)

This is how it looked when I was done:

Good luck

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment